A Father’s Day Tribute to My Dad

In typical Boerger fashion we had a few ideas of what to do with my dad for Father’s Day but when my brother, sister and dad  arrived at my house around 2:30 yesterday, we still hadn’t made a decision. It would be easier if our dad made the decision for us, but we all knew what he would say when asked what he wanted to spend the day doing. In his customary nostalgic way his answer is always “As long as my three kids are with me, I am happy.” We often laugh and roll our eyes at our dad’s melancholy statements about how wonderful we are, but deep down those words are powerful statements.

When I think about my relationship with my dad, those nostalgic statements of adoration and love have been a blessing and given me a place of belonging. I never doubted my fathers love for me. Not only did he always tell me how much I meant to him, but he was present. One of the greatest gifts dads can give their children, is presence, and my dad was great at that. After a long day of work, I never doubted his desire to spend time with me. I have so many great memories with him. They include nights rocking out to Neil Young, late evenings finishing creative school projects, long games of pepper (playing catch as fast as you can), hour-long conversations analyzing the latest high school softball game, games of HORSE at the basketball hoop, and hurrying out to ice skate on the frozen lakes when it got cold enough.

It was never hard enough for me to understand a father’s love, because I experienced it in both words and actions. Understanding God in terms of a loving father was always easy for me.  I have encountered many people who did not experience that same sense of love from their father. While we all have the ability to be resilient despite our upbringing, scars can run deep and impact us more than we know. I continue to thank God that I grew up in a home where I belonged, was loved, and always knew that love from both my parents! I hope that Ryan and I can provide that to our children one day, and that I can help encourage and support other parents in providing that for their children.

We ended up going bowling, eating a delicious dinner out, and finishing off the night with some root beer floats and great conversation!

About Heather Ingersoll

This is me... wife of Ryan, my college sweetheart​, mother of Theo, my ambitious energetic toddler, faithful follower of Christ, well..strive to be a faithful follower of Christ facilitator and proponent, Becoming a Love and Logic Parent alumnus of Seattle Pacific University, PhD in Education alumnus of Concordia University St. Paul, MA in Human Services alumnus of Trinity Lutheran College, BA in Christian Education This is what I like... running, cooking, reading, bicycling, drinking tea, BBQs, mornings reading books in bed with my son, games with family and friends. Photo by Shawn Ingersoll Photography 2010, http://shawningersoll.com/

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Family. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Teresa Ingersoll

    Very nice my DIL!! I KNOW you and Ryan will do a great job with your children also! Hugs to you all.

  2. Heather, you are a blessing. It was a wonderful fathers Day. Thank you, and one of these days I’ll just tell you all what we are doing.

Leave a Reply

